TSS

Vintage Vespa Forum

Total Newbie here

AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Traveller Greg Wood
KY, USA   USA
Hi all, I'm Greg Wood living in Wilmore, Kentucky USA, and a few days ago, I foolishly bought an old Vespa that I know NOTHING about. I really don't even know what model it is, or what to call it.
Supposedly, it is a 1956 150cc. The serial number begins with VL3T,....is that the model? It looks to be in decent shape with some restoration work that seems to be well done. Not sure of the value, but I gave $1600 for it and I'm not trying to sell it, so it isn't the end of the world if that was a little high. I filled it with fresh gas and a 5% oil mix and it runs ok, but is not very enthusiastic about starting. I'd like it to be a frequent driver, so if there is a newer carburetor that could be installed without other modifications, I'd like to hear about it.
What it really does not like to do is shift. It had a broken shift cable ( I found a new one in the compartment) and after I installed it and did my best to adjust it and remove iny slack in the cables the only gear that I can always find is 2nd. If I reach under the bike and manually move the selector device I can eventually locate 1st, 3rd and neutral also, but it still seems pretty vague about finding the right gear.
Please forgive any breach protocol as I am not very experienced with forums. I promise a minimum of whining, and I'll do my best to keep my questions from being too stupid.
Regards to all,
Greg Wood
1956 Vespa 150?
1953 Willys Station Wagon
1929 Willys Whippet
1941 Oldsmobile 76
1959 Morris Oxford Traveller

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
Traveller Greg Wood
KY, USA   USA
Oh yeah, Here's a photo

Attachments:
1956VespaTop.jpg    81.7 KB
1956VespaTop.jpg

1956Vespa.jpg    72.8 KB
Sign In or Register to view this photo
RedBird64 Avatar
RedBird64 Ken Ashbrook
Severna Park, MD, USA   USA
Hi