TSS

Vintage Vespa Forum

65 Vespa Sprint--or not!

AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

amstrum Mark Strumolo
Naugatuck, CT, USA   USA
Hi everyone!
I'm new to TSS and I have a newly "inherited" 1965 Vespa Sprint--I think. The reason I say this is because even though the engine number traces out as a 64-66 Sprint, certain parts on it make no sense. The carburetor and the stator, for instance, look nothing like any I have seen anywhere in manuals or on the i-net. And there is also this mystery part sandwiched between the engine and the coil that I dont even recognize. It has two wires coming from it; where they go, who knows. I should mention that this thing is in pretty rough shape and the wiring harness has been butchered. Nothing is hooked up and much could be missing. Oh yeah, none of the wiring diagrams I have looked at match what I seem to have (or the colors) either!

I just want to make sure I have what I think I have and want to replace anything that doesn't belong before I decide how deeply I want to get involved in this project...

I was hoping to post a few pictures so that anyone out there might be able to advise me as to what I have, to replace/not to replace, how to hook it up, etc. Any feedback would be great.

Thanks!

Mark

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <

Attachments:
20180815_100202.jpg    22.6 KB
20180815_100202.jpg

20180815_101124.jpg    44.7 KB
Sign In or Register to view this photo
20180815_110125.jpg    42.4 KB
20180815_101220.jpg    46.2 KB
OlympiaScooterCompany Avatar
OlympiaScooterCompany Silver Member Matthew Gatlin
Olympia, WA, USA   USA
Did this scooter make it's way over from Vietnam?

Matthew Gatlin
Olympia Scooter Company
Cell: 503.954.4043
Email: sales@olympiascootercompany.com

amstrum Mark Strumolo
Naugatuck, CT, USA   USA