Visit our Twitter feed for more great content
TSS

Vintage Vespa Forum

1980 Vespa Piaggio P200e hasnt run in 10 years will blog the steps I take to get her running again....follow along

AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

jpv74 Jim Velardi
CHANTILLY, VA, USA   USA
Hello all, I have taken on the challenge to get my brother in laws 1980 Vespa Piaggio P200e running again after 10 years of sitting in a garage. Follow along to see just what it takes to get this ole girl runnin' again. I like to tinker but I am no mechanic.....not even close. I can do the easy Joe Schmo stuff that everyone else can.....but now with YouTube leading the way the sky is the limit. I have already met Matthew from Olympia Scooter Co on my first post in this forum. With his help I already have several parts in the mail and on the way. He has already gone out of his way to help me....I will do my best not to wear out his welcome smiling smiley .
Sooooooooooo here we go..........I drove from Chantilly Va to PA over the holiday to pick up the scooter from my brother in laws place...I transported it in my work vehicle. The extra few minutes we took to get her strapped in correctly for the long ride paid off. She arrived safely and didn't even budge on the 4 hour drive. On day one I snapped a few " before " pics out in the sun then rolled her into my garage.
I should note I have never ridden a Vespa and no nothing about them. I do however have experience with motorcycles but nothing with such an odd shifting mechanism. I spent a little time familiarizing myself with the scooter and it wasn't long before I realized that its an oil injected 2 stroke. I took it light on day one....I just removed the fenders....and located the carburetor. I peaked in the carb then called it a day.

Another note.....this scooter was in a little fender bender on its last joy ride.....so I will be replacing the headlight...blinkers....and trying to do some body work to knock out the dents in the fairing.

Day 2.....